Chiltern 20 2020 will be a bit different

This year's Chiltern 20 Challenge Hike is ready to go, but with a difference as we need to fit within the framework of the restrictions currently in place. At the time of the event we expect to be either in an amber or yellow phase, so there will be changes to make it safe for everybody. This event won't be a competition against other teams and there will be no trophies awarded.


We have created twenty separate routes across GLN and beyond. You may select a route from the list presented. If you have more than one team of Scouts, you may enter more than one route and on more than one day. The choice of dates is:

  1. Saturday 17th October
  2. Sunday 18th October
  3. Saturday 24th October
  4. Sunday 25th October
  5. Saturday 31st October
  6. Sunday 1st November
  7. Saturday 14th November
  8. Sunday 15th November
  9. Saturday 21st November
  10. Sunday 22nd November.

All the routes will be 10km-12km in total distance. Each team must consist of between 3-5 participants of Scout age, and be accompanied by two adult members of Scouting. Up to two teams will be allowed to walk their chosen route on each of the ten days to comply with staying safe, with either a 09:00 or 11:00 starting time.

Each team and every team member including adults walking with teams will be awarded a completion certificate and presented with a special Chiltern 20 – 2020 badge.

Drop an email to Chris Feakes, our registrar and this year's route manager onThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to register your interest in taking part and further information will be sent to you.